Mandatory Credit: Winslow Townson-USA TODAY Sports

Boston Bruins outduel Buffalo Sabres, win Presidents' Trophy

The Boston Bruins defeated the Buffalo Sabres Saturday afternoon at TD Garden, 4-1. In victory, the Bruins locked up home-ice advantage throughout the postseason, winning their first Presidents’ Trophy since the 1989-1990 season. The Bruins also earned a season series win over Buffalo.

David Krejci continued his recent hot streak, scoring a pair of goals in the win. Krejci scored once in the first period after Gregory Campbell opened the game with a goal of his own. He then added his second tally on the powerplay in third.

Already ahead 2-0 in the second, Patrice Bergeron banged home his 30th goal of the year to extend Boston’s lead. Bergeron left the game and did not play in the third for an undisclosed reason.

Cody Hodgson scored Buffalo’s lone goal in what was a forgettable game in the second. It was his 20th score of the year. The Sabres lost a slew of players in the game. Goaltender Matt Hackett was stretchered off the ice after suffering a leg injury in the third.

Connor Knapp made his NHL debut when he was forced to replace Hackett. Hackett had played well, stopping 20 of 23 shots. Knapp made six saves in relief.

Tuukka Rask started between the pipes for Boston. Rask was sharp in victory, turning aside 25 of 26 shots.

Boston snapped a two game losing streak with the win. They have now amassed 117 points on the season, enough to have edged the Anaheim Ducks for the top overall seed in the NHL playoffs.

Chris Kelly missed his second straight game with what Claude Julien‘s calling a lower-back injury. The Bruins will close out their regular season on Sunday in New Jersey.


Tags: Boston Bruins Boston Bruins Game Recap Boston Bruins Recap Bruins Vs. Sabres Recap Presidents' Trophy

comments powered by Disqus